Skip to content

New Year’s Day! P90X, Murakami, and Resolutions

January 1, 2010

Happy New Year!  I think this is going to be a decisive year for me.  I am planning to do my first triathlon and planning to work on some side projects I’ve been putting off for a long time.  I hope everything goes smoothly and that I make it to the end happy and healthy.

I did P90X legs and back this morning.  I like this workout.  It was starting to get easy so I had to take it up a notch by adding weights to some of the routines.  For some reason I feel like I haven’t really been bringing it this time around.  This could just be a mental thing.  I need to focus and get my head back in it.

I’m reading a great book right now by one of my favorite fiction authors Haruki Murakami.  I was introduced to his works in a literature survey class I took in college.  The book is What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International).  It is not fiction.  It is his story of his passion for running.  I’m finding it very inspiring.  This is probably because, like me, he is not an athlete.  He is just a normal guy that is trying to reach a goal.  For him it is to run a marathon a year.  It would be great if I could run an Ironman a year…  Anyway, I recommend the book.

Perhaps the most important part of this post is my New Year’s resolutions…

1. Run an Olympic distance triathlon and begin training for an Ironman in 2011.

2. Drink less.  Once or twice per week.  Maybe I can go back to my college rules — only drink on Friday nights.

3. Exercise to my full potential, i.e. “Bring It” every time.

4. Read more.

5. Build on my relationships with family and friends.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

