Skip to content

First open water swim of the year

May 30, 2010

I’m “up north” at my parents’ condo on Lake Huron enjoying a nice holiday weekend. My wetsuit came this week so I decided to give it a try in the 40 degree water. That’s F not C, so the water was pretty cold, or so I thought… The wetsuit was great! I even felt hot. What an amazing thing. I wish I could say the same thing about my performance in the water…

I was only able to swim for about 20 minutes before my legs started cramping (probably from the 40 miles on the bike I did before the swim). Anyway, I thought it was dangerous to continue swimming and came to shore. I have a lot of swim work to do if I am going to be ready for the half Ironman 1.2 mile swim coming up later this summer. Good thing I like to work hard.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

